August 7th, 2015- More from the MTC

That week absolutely flew by. Whoosh. We fly out of SLC Monday morning. It’s super funny how the flight plans worked out. We’re flying to Phoenix and then have an hour layover before flying to Durango and then taking a bus down to the mission home in Farmington. So we’re going from the southwest corner of the mission to the northeast corner. We find that super funny. Anyways, this past week, we’ve learned so much! We joke around that the more we learn, the dumber we feel but I know it’s totally worth it. We’re constantly practicing talking to people we don’t know and really listening to them. I got to see Elder Harper! He’s starting to work at the MTC and seeing him really made my week. We got a picture together and hopefully I see him before I leave on Monday.

BEST THING EVER! Yesterday, I met two Elders (Crook and Malin) who are going to WV this week. It was really funny because I had to debunk all of the myths they had heard about WV culture. It was an awesome experience. I got to tell them all about the backroads, 55 counties, how to show the shape of WV using their hands, and the many tree-filled hills amongst other things. They’re both from Idaho so it’s going to a really cool/different experience for both of them. Oh, how I miss trees. Humidity…not so much.

This week I discovered that Elder Henderson can impersonate Kronk from Emperor’s New Groove like no other: “Didn’t I… wrestle you in High School?” Haha. Overall, it’s been a great week and a half but we all can’t wait to get out to the reservation and eat some navajo tacos. One day there was actually navajo tacos for lunch so we had them and they were super good. Easily the best meal I have had at the MTC.
This past Sunday I had the chance to watch an old talk by David Bednar about becoming more like Christ and it was super inspiring. Sadly, I can’t find a link or anything to share it, but it was awesome and we all are striving to be more Christ-like.
One scripture that I’ve really tried to live by is Alma 29:9-10: ” I know that which the Lord hath commanded me, and I glory in it. I do not glory of myself, but I glory in that which the Lord hath commanded me; yea, and this is my glory, that perhaps I may be an instrument in the hands of God to bring some soul to repentance; and this is my joy. And behold, when I see many of my brethren truly penitent, and coming to the Lord their God, then is my soul filled with joy; then do I remember what the Lord has done for me, yea, even that he hath heard my prayer; yea,then do I remember his merciful arm which he extended towards me.”
Love you all! 🙂
Elder Jeffrey Woodbury
Leave a Reply

