October 26th, 2015- Missionary Work is Awesome!

Hey everyone! This past week flew by super fast. So, we found out what the population of White Mesa currently is (drum roll please) 167. It was 168 but someone died a week and a half ago. We had the funeral for him this past Tuesday up in Blanding. He was a pretty cool dude who was getting old and really struggling health wise. His funeral service was super cool ’cause we got to see all of the people that live on the Mesa that don’t like talking to us. It was an awesome experience. It was hard to see anyone this week (like nobody was home). It was kinda weird. Wednesday we got to have the dinner with the Bradfords (part of our Branch Presidency). It was awesome and Bro. Bradford showed us his rock collection. That’s where we found the tarantula which we kept for the day.

Boscoe  Boscoe the Tarantula

I learn so much everyday just during study time in the morning and in walking around the Mesa. One of the coolest things we got to do this week was watch the “Finding Faith in Christ” video with Riley and Bryden (two kids who live on the Rez and have no Religious background whatsoever). The video is super good at illustrating the life of Christ and what it means to have faith.

I love the New Testament. One of the BYU devotionals I listened to this week talked about how friends can always be there for you and the value of having good friends. In John 15, Christ is giving some counsel and he writes these awesome words of love “This is my commandment, That ye love one another, as I have loved you. Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends. Ye are my friends, if ye do whatsoever I command you.” I love this ’cause we often think of Christ as someone who is too holy for us to reckon as a friend. But, in all reality he’s more than just a friend, but our brother that is always willing to help and guide us along the path of happiness.

Kickball

I’m doing great! I’m really loving White Mesa for what it is in all its simplicity. Missionary work is awesome and I’m so glad I have the opportunity to truly give of myself for the better of the world.

Thanks, transfers are this next week, so I’ll know by next Monday whether I’m staying or going somewhere else (we’ll see). Here’s the 7th article of faith: “We believe in the gift of tongues, prophecy, revelation, visions, healing, interpretation of tongues, and so forth.” And I am so thankful for modern-day revelation. There’s no way that missionary work could be so effective without it. Thank you for all the letters and support each day. I truly love you all and you’re all my friends. Have a great week!

Elder Jeffrey Woodbury
Leave a Reply

