November 2nd, 2015- Transfers Are In, Staying in White Mesa

Hey! This past week was great! So, for transfers I’m gonna be staying in White Mesa and Elder Hudson is heading down to Indian Wells, AZ. I’m picking up my new companion, Elder Rigby, tomorrow in Farmington. It’ll be super cool.Biggest dog I've ever seen on the reservation.

This past Monday, we went up to Monticello with the Blanding elders and played some volleyball and basketball, as well as some pool. We met with Wanda again and learned how to do lumework. It was really easy to pick up.

We learned how to do Lumework with Wanda this past week. It's super easy. So... I used the best 5 colors that exist. Not the best work, but I'll definitely make a few more.
We learned how to do Lumework with Wanda this past week. It’s super easy. So… I used the best 5 colors that exist. Not the best work, but I’ll definitely make a few more.
On Thursday, I went down to Montezuma Creek with Elder Vickers on exchanges. It’s always a great experience just to leave the area for a day and meet new people. On Friday, White Mesa had a Halloween party in the community center as well as a costume contest. Elder Hudson and I got to judge the costume contest – it was great! They’re were some super creative costumes.

P1000926

I’m happy I get to be in White Mesa for another six weeks. There’s so much to do and so many people I haven’t met yet (which is surprising ’cause it’s White Mesa). While I was in Montezuma, we went and helped teach a seminary class there. There was only 5 kids, but the lesson was on Exodus 16. One of the things we discussed about the chapter was the symbolism of the manna and how we can apply the experiences of the Children of Israel to us today. One of the lessons we can take away is that in order to get something (like manna/food) you have to work for it. But, the biggest lesson is that each day the Children of Israel had to gather manna (except Sunday) and they  could only get as much as they could eat – no more no less. And only by abiding completely to God’s commands were they able to get fed. The comparison to the modern days is that each of our Spirits needs spiritual feeding, And each day we can “feed” our spirits by reading the scriptures and praying. It’s so simple, yet so hard to do. But, for me I know that starting off each day with an hour of personal study fully invested in “feeding” my spirit helps set the table for my day.

I’m doing great, and I’m glad I’m serving in Utah, in little White Mesa. There’s so much good in life, there really is. Here’s the 8th article of faith: “We believe the Bible to be the word of God as far as it is translated correctly; we also believe the Book of Mormon to be the word of God.” The bibles pretty sweet to read and it’s even better when you have the Book of Mormon to clarify things.

Love you all! Take Care!
Elder Jeffrey Woodbury
Yeah, so I'm staying in White Mesa. This past week was really good. Monday, we went up to Monticello and played some volleyball and pool. It's deer season!
Yeah, so I’m staying in White Mesa. This past week was really good. Monday, we went up to Monticello and played some volleyball and pool. It’s deer season! “And I think they got Skeeter tied to the hood!”. This was in the Bowring’s garage.
Leave a Reply

