January 25th, 2016- Leaving White Mesa

Well…I’m leaving White Mesa heading for the Hammond ward in Bloomfield, NM. My time in White Mesa felt super short, but I’m excited for the change. And something super cool is that I’m going to be reunited with Elder Henderson (my MTC companion). It’ll be great!

P1010420.JPG
Wanda and Aldean! Plus Elder Jensen from Bluff. Wanda helped him make moccasins. Elder Jensen’s going to Farmington.
This past week we went up to Monticello on Monday and played some pool at a members house (not swimming, billiards I’m talking about). It’s warmed up a bit here. I got to go down to Bluff on exchanges and that was nice. Some people live down some terrible roads. We practically went mud-boggin for a good 30 minutes to see this one lady. P1010393.JPG
So, this past week Elder Cly (from White Mesa) returned from his mission to Mexico. On Saturday he baptized his niece (who lives on the mesa and has been coming to church with her family for the past few months). It was great! On Sunday he gave his homecoming talk and over 100 people (majority from the Mesa and a good amount of people from Blanding) came down to support him as he spoke on his mission experiences. It was flat-out incredible and something I’ll remember for the rest of my life. The light of Christ truly does reside with everyone. Even though a lot of White Mesa have lost the ability to recognize the constant companionship of the Holy Ghost, they still know what’s right. White Mesa’s one fantastic area!
P1010404.JPG
I’m doing good and I’m excited for the coming weeks. Here’s the 6th point of the true church: “The true church must have no paid ministry.” This one’s awesome because growing up I always thought Bishops and Stake Presidents were paid, but they aren’t.  Here’s the reference of 1 Corinthians 9:18 :”What is my reward then? Verily that, when I preach the gospel, I may make the gospel of Christ without charge,that I abuse not my power in the gospel.” The leaders of the Church are some amazing men and women, that’s for sure.
P1010378.JPG
Thanks for all the letters and mail and everything. Don’t get stuck in the snow! Also, I hear BYU basketball is struggling so maybe I have a shot after my mission, right? …probably not.
Love you all!
Elder Jeffrey Woodbury
P.S.
This is the sign for the White Mesa Community Center. My first week in White Mesa the sign said “Attention Community members there will be no CHR (Community Housing Representative – not sure what they do) Aug 19 thru 21.” They still haven’t changed it and every day I see it I’m like “wow that was a long time ago, I remember when they put that up.”
P1010370.JPG
P1010387.JPG
Leave a Reply

