February 1st, 2016- Welcome to Bloomfield NM

Alrighty, so this past Monday in Blanding we played some basketball and a bunch of high school kids came to play. It was super fun and I was really sore at the end of the day. But the good kind of sore. I got to play one last game of Rez ball Monday night at the White Mesa Community Center before heading of to Farmington early Tuesday morning.

In Farmington, I met Elder Henderson and said goodbye to Elder Rigby. But, since Elder Henderson had a meeting in Farmington Wednesday and some other stuff went done, I spent Tuesday and Wednesday in Escrito with Elder Lake. It was a good 2 days.
P1010438.JPG
P1010445.JPG
So, on Wednesday night I finally got to meet the apartment in Bloomfield and unpack my stuff. It’s a super cool area with an awesome ward.
While we were knocking some doors on this one street we ran into a real ice cream truck. It blew our minds! I got an ice cream bar thing. Also, At district meeting I found out that one of the elders in Dulce, Elder Goodell, is from Jefferson County West Virginia.

So, we’re sitting in District meeting and talking about where everyone is from. And I introduce myself as being from Maryland. This Elder, Elder Goodell, says “Awesome, East Coast! Where from, exactly?” I say “just west of Baltimore” I ask him where he’s from. He says…wait for it… “WEST VIRGINIA”!!! I got really excited and hugged him and he’s like “what?”. I instantly started asking him about people and the area.

Turns out he’s from Shepherdstown in Jefferson County and went to Jefferson High School. It’s funny because whenever I meet with Sister Adams, I always ask if there are any missionaries from Maryland or West Virginia. She always told me no. Elder Goodell came out a transfer after me.
P1010454.JPG
I’m doing really well and Elder Henderson and I are getting work done here.
Here’s the 7th point of the true church: “The true church must baptize by immersion. With the reference of Jesus being baptized in Matthew 3: 13-16: “Then cometh Jesus from Galilee to Jordan unto John, to be baptized of him. But John forbad him, saying, I have need to be baptized of thee, and comest thou to me? And Jesus answering said unto him, Suffer it to be so now: for thus it becometh us to fulfil all righteousness. Then he suffered him. And Jesus, when he was baptized, went up straightway out of the water: and, lo, the heavens were opened unto him, and he saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove, and lighting upon him:”  It’s pretty logical to say that the true church of Christ must do baptism as Christ did it. Anyways, I’m super glad to have been baptized by immersion and received a remission of sins. The gift of the Holy Ghost is a wonderful gift and without it, missionary work would be impossible.
P1010449.JPG
I’m doing awesome, and really adjusting to the new area. Now, I will admit that my first day was filled with some culture shock to say the least. But, now I’m good and doing great with Elder Henderson!
Love you all! Take Care!
Elder Jeffrey Woodbury
P1010443.JPG
Leave a Reply

