April 4th, 2016- General Conference Weekend

Conference was amazing. Time’s really flying by. I say that alot, but some weeks it’s just downright crazy. Of all the conference talks I really loved Elder Snow’s from Saturday, Brother Owen in the Priesthood session, and Elder Holland in the Sunday afternoon. And obviously, I loved Pres. Monson’s words.

Super cool thing happened this past week. So, before I left to go to the MTC, I was in Maine (grandma and grandpa Woodbury’s ward). There, I met a lady named Virginia Switzer (she’s navajo). She gave me a little piece of paper about people she knew from in my mission. I thought “there’s no way I’m ever going to see any of these people” so I just stuck it in my backpack. Well, what do you know I pull out the paper this Saturday and at the bottom it says “I was born and raised in Coyote Canyon, Brimhall, NM).” WE GO TO COYOTE CANYON two to three times a week. I’ll update you on how it goes finding her friends.
I’m really enjoying it out here. Here’ the 16th point of the true church: “The true church must practice baptisms for the dead.” Here’s two verse from 1 Corinthians 15. “For if the dead rise not, then is not Christ raised:”…”Else what shall they do which are baptized for the dead, if the dead rise not at all? why are they then baptized for the dead?” Everyone should have an opportunity to hear and accept the gospel (the good news). Some get the opportunity in this life, some in the next (in the spirit world). I know that the only way for those that have past on to be baptized is through baptisms for the dead (in behalf of, not digging up dead bodies). I’ve actually never met anyone that thought that we did dig bodies up. Anyways, in Doctrine and Covenants 128:15 “they without us cannot be made perfect—neither can we without our dead be made perfect.” We are their “Saviors on Mt. Zion”.
Thanks for all the help and support. Hope you all enjoy the spring season! (and green grass). It’s a different kind of beauty out here.
Love you all!
Elder Jeffrey Woodbury
Leave a Reply

