It ain’t over till it’s over! Elder Woodbury will be home tomorrow! August 2nd

These pictures are on the road that goes straight to Gallup from Crownpoint. This weekend was the Eastern Navajo Agency Fair. There were so many people in town. The only event we really went to was the Parade Saturday morning. We got there an hour early and the streets were packed with people. It was a slow parade and lasted almost two hours. Elder Richardson and I got decently sun burnt.

P1040184P1040180P1040182

So, there was a 4-H club at the parade!

 

Br. Martinez taught me how to rope yesterday.  It’s pretty simple but I’m not very good.

IMG_0480.JPG

And Keyana and Keynan are really excited for their baptism next week.
This past week was really good. Keyana and Keynan are set for their baptism this Thursday. Keyana is also considering going to seminary during the school year.

I spoke yesterday in Sacrament meeting on seminary and the importance of fulfilling your calling. I shared the story of Pres. Faust’s pet lamb and how he failed to take care of it. It’s rough not having a word processor when preparing talks. You end up just rambling most of the time. Here’s the story told by President James E. Faust in 1995:

“I speak to the worthy young men of the Aaronic Priesthood. When I was a very small boy, my father found a lamb all alone out in the desert. The herd of sheep to which its mother belonged had moved on, and somehow the lamb got separated from its mother, and the shepherd must not have known that it was lost. Because it could not survive alone in the desert, my father picked it up and brought it home. To have left the lamb there would have meant certain death, either by falling prey to the coyotes or by starvation because it was so young that it still needed milk. Some sheepmen call these lambs “bummers.” My father gave the lamb to me and I became its shepherd.

For several weeks I warmed cow’s milk in a baby’s bottle and fed the lamb. We became fast friends. I called him Nigh—why I don’t remember. It began to grow. My lamb and I would play on the lawn. Sometimes we would lie together on the grass and I would lay my head on its soft, woolly side and look up at the blue sky and the white billowing clouds. I did not lock my lamb up during the day. It would not run away. It soon learned to eat grass. I could call my lamb from anywhere in the yard by just imitating as best I could the bleating sound of a sheep: Baa. Baa.

One night there came a terrible storm. I forgot to put my lamb in the barn that night as I should have done. I went to bed. My little friend was frightened in the storm, and I could hear it bleating. I knew that I should help my pet, but I wanted to stay safe, warm, and dry in my bed. I didn’t get up as I should have done. The next morning I went out to find my lamb dead. A dog had also heard its bleating cry and killed it. My heart was broken. I had not been a good shepherd or steward of that which my father had entrusted to me. My father said, “Son, couldn’t I trust you to take care of just one lamb?” My father’s remark hurt me more than losing my woolly friend. I resolved that day, as a little boy, that I would try never again to neglect my stewardship as a shepherd if I were ever placed in that position again.”

This is from the teepee hike. There’s a rock that looks like a teepee.
“We call things what they are. “

P1040287
Crownpoint is a pretty sweet place.

Elder Richardson and I are going into Gallup today. And I get to meet with Victor again! He’s the man who was baptized last July in Tohatchi.

A cool sunset.

P1040303
(Cindy writing here…Elder Woodbury must have made his rounds saying goodbye to people. Here are a bunch of families that he sent us pictures of.)
The Perry Family!!! All we’re missing is the oldest brother Andrew and the mom. (This is the best picture I got).
P1040312.JPG
The Bates’/Morgan family.

P1040334.JPG
And then good ‘ole Sis. Roper. She’s a funny lady.

P1040358
And Victoria!

P1040365

Ron and Yolanda Begay’s family. We’ve been working with them towards baptism for almost 3 months. (Hopefully, they get there someday).

P1040371
Keyana and Keynan and their Grandma. They’re some great kids.
P1040380

The Martinez Family. Bryce is in the back not looking at the camera. He has a shirt with The Great Hambino from Sandlot that says “Legends Never Die.”

P1040394
Brother Billy
P1040399

And The Wilcox’s. Quick story time. Br. Wilcox went camping this past week and his truck stopped changing gears. He looked under his truck and saw that a cable was broken that changed the gears. So, he took some vise grips and manually changed the gears himself by getting a stick and poking at the grips to change form neutral to drive to park etc… He called it his “stickshift”. He’s a super funny man.

P1040401
I want each one of you to know I am very grateful to have been a missionary. Yes, I missed home and family, but it’s been very very rewarding. For the rest of my life, I’ll have an incredible love for the Navajos (and Utes). I’ll know how to recognize them! Everyone and their dog says they have a family member living in Provo or Salt Lake but I’ve never noticed any Navajos before!

I was talking with Pres. Adams this past week about how powerful it has been to hear the testimony and sacrifice of members of the church across the reservation. It has strengthened my own faith. And yes, I’m very grateful for my time off of the rez in Bloomfield and Grants. But I’ll miss the rez and the people.

I love you all and thank you for your support. It’s been a while and I’m ready to see my family. There’s s much more to tell you in person. 🙂

I’ll be flying from Durango to Denver to Houston to BWI on Wednesday. It will be a long day, but enjoyable.
See ya soon (hopefully grandma and grandpa too)
Love you all!
Leave a Reply

